Blog

The Lemon Law is Designed to Protect New and Used Vehicle Buyers

What’s the best part about buying a car? Perhaps, shaking your hand with the salesperson, hanging your car key on a stylish keychain, driving off the lot and picturing fantastic road trips with your new purchase! And what’s the worst part about having a new car? Finding out that your vehicle has serious defects even the mechanic is unable to fix after a number of attempts! Yeah, realizing you have spent a ton on a giant piece of metal is really frustrating! But hey, stop panicking! Luckily, you have rights if the car that you bought turns out to be defective. Keep scrolling to see how Lemon Law can help you say goodbye to your faulty car!

What is Lemon Law?

Lemon Laws are state and federal laws that are designed to protect consumers who have purchased defective vehicles. Consumers who have purchased a vehicle with a major mechanical defect can get a refund or replacement of a car. However, your rights will depend on the laws of the particular state where you live or where you bought the car. The thing is lemon laws vary from state-to-state. So it’s a must for you to check your state’s Lemon Law and find out how Lemon Law claims are handled where you live!

Think You Are Driving a Lemon?

If you believe your car is a lemon, we highly recommend you dial (818) 553 -1000 right now for a free consultation. Our experienced Lemon Law attorneys at Margarian Law Firm will help you find out if you have a claim worth pursuing! But before you dial our number go a bit further to learn what qualifies a car as a lemon and more!

Lemon Law for New Cars!

Lemon laws usually apply to new cars that have a “substantial defect”, a defect that impairs the use, value, or safety of the vehicle, such as an airbag defect, faulty brakes or steering.

So it goes without saying that minor defects such as a broken knob, faulty radio or anything that can be fixed with a simple repair don’t affect a significant function of the car. Even if your car has 10 different minor defects, it’s not enough for a car to qualify as a lemon, while one serious defect that isn’t fixed after a number of repair attempts may qualify as a lemon.

In all states, the substantial defect must occur within a certain time period or within a certain number of miles. For example, California Lemon Law allows a time period of 18 months or 18,000 miles, whereas Georgia allows for 12 months or 12,000 miles, and New York calls for a period of 24 months or 18,000 miles.

If this is about your new defective car, schedule an appointment with a mechanic as soon as possible. And if the manufacturer fails to fix the defect after a reasonable number of attempts your car may be considered a lemon. Once this label has been attached to your vehicle, you are entitled to a full refund or replacement of a car.

Lemon Law and Defective Used Cars!

Are you unable to get from point A to point B by your newly purchased used car? Is your faulty used car spending more time at the repair shop than it is spending with you? If so, you are most likely blaming yourself for buying a used car, aren’t you? Well, you shouldn’t as there are protective provisions for used car owners under the lemon law of some states as well.

For example, in California, your used car may qualify for protection but only if you bought the faulty used car with the manufacturer’s warranty (which is typically 3 years/36,000 miles, but can be more for some manufacturers).

However, don’t forget that state laws vary. So it’s crucially important to review your state’s laws to find out if your used car qualifies as a lemon.

Call Now ButtonCall Us Now Skip to content