California lemon laws help Consumers who get stuck with defective cars. In order to take advantage of these laws, first of all you need to give the manufacturer an opportunity to repair the vehicle. Each and every time you feel that your vehicle has an issue, take it to the manufacturer’s authorized dealership and ask them to repair it. Make sure you get a document stating the reason for your concerns.
What Should You Do If You Think You Bought a Lemon Car?
If your car turns out to be a lemon you might be able to get a refund or replacement vehicle from the manufacturer.
In order to get rid of your lemon car, follow these 4 facts about California Lemon law.
The Manufacturer must get a chance to fix the problem.
To be considered a lemon under the California Lemon Law, you must first contact the dealership or manufacturer and notify them of the problem. The manufacturer must have the opportunity to correct the defect. If they are unable to resolve the issues after a fair number of efforts, the vehicle may be considered a lemon.
Leased Vehicles are covered too.
Importantly, lessees with good warranties are also entitled to lemon law protections under California Civil Code 1795.4. (b). The law provides that individuals who lease cars have the same consumer rights as those who buy them.
Expect the Manufacturer to push back.
Manufacturers do not like to lose money, because returning a lemon costs the manufacturer money. They might claim that the problem was caused by the damage you made while driving and dispute your claim.The legislation would not apply in the scenario. By that way the law would not work.
The length of the case depends on the specifications of each case. On average, anywhere from 1 to 6 months.
A lemon law claim is often settled in as little as 30 days. Yet, because lemon law lawsuits can be complicated, it might take three to six months to complete. If manufacturers refuse to repurchase or replace a lemon vehicle, some instances may take longer.